Norma P. Bartolome Scholarship

You are here

Norma P. Bartolome

This nursing scholarship was established to honor the life and contributions of Norma Pallasa Bartolome, RN. Bartolome completed her nursing training in the Philippines at Philippine Union College (Adventist University of the Philippines) and immigrated with her family to the U.S. in 1968. At the time, there was a severe nursing shortage and Bartolome was recruited to work at Cook County Hospital in Chicago, Illinois.

Bartolome, a lifelong Seventh-day Adventist, moved to Keene, Texas, in 1978 with her husband, Guillermo A. Bartolome, and their two sons Ivan and Ira. They were lured to Texas by jobs at Huguley Hospital, Adventist schools, close Filipino friends (the Bunag family), and a warmer climate.

Bartolome passed away on May 21, 1991, after a short battle with cancer. She died on the same nursing floor at Huguley Hospital where she had worked as an oncology nurse. During her final weeks, it was her nurse co-workers who labored lovingly at her bedside. In addition, her husband "Bart," who was a respiratory therapist at Huguley, cared for her in her last waking moments.

Bartolome is buried only a few blocks from Southwestern in the Keene Cemetery. Her graveside marker includes an engraved picture of her wearing her nursing cap. She is only a few feet away from her beloved husband, who died April 5, 2002, after his own battle with cancer. With the help of their two sons, Bart established this scholarship to annually commemorate Bartolome's dedication as a wife, mother, sister, daughter, friend, and nurse. Her infectious laughter and delight in Christ were memorable to everyone she met. Those who have survived her agree that she was a mirror of Christ’s love in both her nursing profession and her nurturing personal relationships.


Students Recipients 

2020-2021- Jennifer Contreras

2018-2019 - Chioma Nwaohuocha

2017-2018 -Leslie Sanchez-Alanis

2016-2017 -John Ombasa

2015- 2016 -  Gloria Mapalley

2014-2015 - Dina Narvaez 

2013-2014 - Jessica Aguilar 

2012-2013 - Sheraine  Gordon 

2011 - 2012 - Linda Tach 

2010- 2011 - Lee Er Jin 

2009-2010 - Harold Ong 

2008-2009 - Christian Sumanti 

2006-2007 - James Dechavez , Silvana Sumanti 

2005-2006 -  Sonia Ferdinand , Silvana Sumanti