Edward & Sylvia Brickman Scholarship

You are here

Edward and Sylvia Brickman

For over 50 years, Ed and Sylvia Brickman have been known in Alva, northwest Oklahoma, for three things: their beautiful farms and ranch, their progressive business dealings, and their welcoming smiles and sense of humor.

One of eight children in a Seventh-day Adventist family, Edward Brickman grew up on an Alva wheat farm. His life was spent farming some of Oklahoma’s best land. In later years, he added a hobby to his holdings—a cattle ranch east of Alva. “He was known all over as a manager,” explains Sylvia. Sylvia’s grandfather came to Oklahoma in the 1889 land rush. She grew up in Hitchcock, Oklahoma, also on a wheat farm, and also as a third-generation Adventist. After graduation from Hitchcock High School, she attended Union College for two years, and then graduated from Northwest State University at Alva with a Bachelor of Science degree in home economics and history. It was while she was attending Northwest State that she and Ed met, courted, and began a 46-year marriage and business partnership.

This scholarship is given to students with academic achievement and financial needs. When asked why she set up a scholarship fund at Southwestern, Sylvia said, “I am impressed with the young people working hard to get a higher education. They are our future. My husband left these financial delusions to me. I think he’d have favored helping the young people.”

Students Recipients 

2020-2021- Stephanie Coleman, Raquel Villa, Noelle Lopez, Andrew Elias

2019-2020 -Yamilet Nevarez, Aletia Thornton, Evelyn Garcia, Jaquelyn Montoya

2018-2019 -Alexis Gaxiola, Claudeny Monasse, Christopher Findly

2017-2018 -Alexis Mirelis, Janely Castro, Dominguez- Martinez, Adrian Perez-Gomez, Eliel Rosabal, Jonathan Rios, Liliana Vazquez, Marcos Gil, Sarah Castro

2016-2017 - Gloribell Argueta, Janely Castro, Sheila Maldonado, Cristian Perez, John Tarbox, Ginlian Thang

2015-2016 - Andrew Austin, Lidia Davilla

2014-2015 - Jacob Carvalho, Isha Gomez, Elisa Hernandez

2013-2014 - Candace McCormick, Dina Narvaez, Julie Ward

2012-2013 - Simeon Burns, Sarah Nadarajan, Daniel Spooner

2011-2012 - Justin Kristler, Rowdy Lofton, Ngoc-Tam Nguyen, Giselle Ortiz

2010-2011 - Cynthia James, Anais Navarate

2009-2010 - Kimberly Clarke, Ryan Hiebert

2008-2009 - Kathy Douglas

2007-2008 - Cindy Guardado, Diana Headrick, Miriam Popovsky

2006-2007 - Deana Hedrick, Stephanie Jean, Clayton Leinneweber