Marc Simpson Memorial Scholarship

You are here

Marc Simpson

Marc Randall Simpson was born December 16, 1977. A '96 graduate of Ozark Academy, he went on to Southwestern majoring in Business Management. During his Junior year he felt the call to mission service. He went to Japan, teaching English and Bible classes at the Harajuku Seventhday Adventist Language School, Shibuya-ku, Tokyo, Japan. Eight months into his one year term, Marc was pre-diagnosed with osteogenic sarcoma and was sent home March, 2000. This diagnosis was confirmed and he began a courageous fourteen-month battle to overcome cancer. He went to sleep in Jesus on May 27, 2001 at his home in Louisiana. Marc's life was greatly enriched by his experience in Japan. This mission experience changed Marc's life and focus. His greatest desire was to go back to Japan and continue his service for the Lord there. People of all ages and nationalities felt loved and cared for by Marc. He had a winsome disposition and blessed, loved and inspired people for God. The testimony of the power of God in his life was exhibited even as he faced and battled cancer until death. He had a positive and courageous spirit through it all. Marc was awarded the first ever, posthumous

degree from Southwestern in May 2002.

This scholarship is given to a returning student missionary. It is intended to assist those who have experienced the joy of student mission service.

The family's desire in the establishment of this scholarship is to continue making a difference in the lives of other young people. Marc benefited from the Curnow Student Missionary Scholarship. So, in effect, people invested in him. He in turn invested in other people through God-given gifts and talents.

The scholarship has been made possible by the generosity of friends, family, and churches, not only by honoring the family's request that donations be made in Marc's memory, but in continued giving to the scholarship. Special recognition is given to the Westlakes Seventh-day Adventist Church in Louisiana for having contributed significantly in the establishment of this scholarship.


Student Recipients 

2020-2021-Amy Curo, Harold Stowell

2019-2020 -Brooke Flower

2015-2016 - Kristina Lounds, Isai Ramirez 

2014-2015 - Marlene Espiricueta 

2013-2014 - Martin Reid

2012-2013 - KayLee Mason

2011-2012 - Sarah Shelly

2010-2011 - Ashley Gonzalez